2015 Kits · Creative Team · Pocket Page · Scrapbook Layout

Mixing Traditional Layouts with Project Life by Guest Designer Mandy Elliott

Hi everyone, its Mandy again here to share a second layout I’ve created using the September kit.

Memory keeping is an on going endeavor for me. I started scrapbooking when I was about ten years old as a result of my mom creating scrapbooks of her own.  Once I began high school, I had filled a few 12×12 albums already.  As a young adult balancing college, working, friends and a boyfriend, I did not exactly have the time to create scrapbook pages but I still did my own form of memory keeping by taking digital photos and keeping a Word document journal on my computer.

After my husband and I married a few years ago, I found myself wanting to document our new lives. I had oodles of printed Instagram photos from our first year and began researching how I could create an album using those prints.  That is how I discovered the Project Life system. Fast forward three years and I’m still loving the pocket page style but occasionally, I like to mix in a few traditional pages, digital pages, and even journal keeping. To me, that’s the beauty of memory keeping!  There are so many ways to be creative while still fulfilling a wonderful purpose!

littlelammco-nest-mandyelliott-8 copy
I love that the Creative Retreat kit allowed me to be completely flexible in my two different layouts.  You can see my first layout here, where I stuck to the mood board colors of the kit. However, in this layout, you can see I totally pulled individual elements and tied them together in a completely different color palette and form.

littlelammco-nest-mandyelliott-1Can I just add that I am obsessed with those little burlap bows???

littlelammco-nest-mandyelliott-2 copy
I still have enough of this month’s kit leftover to create a third, fourth, and maybe even fifth layout!  The products go so far!
I would love to see how you’ve used your kit from this month. Come share with myself and Creative Retreat on social media!

Mandy Elliott is blogger, photographer, and shop owner.  When she’s not busy working at her full time job or doing photo shoots, she enjoys her time scrapbooking, hanging out with her husband and their little dog, traveling, and baking.  Visit her blog or follow her on social media to see more of her work.

Blog  |  ShopPinterestInstagram | Facebook

One thought on “Mixing Traditional Layouts with Project Life by Guest Designer Mandy Elliott

Comments

