Money/Gift Card Holder | Shayla

Hello again everyone! Shayla here again, also known on SimplyShaylaJo. I’m excited to be back today with my second blog post using October’s Creative Retreat Kit.  I love that this kit’s colors go with everything and add a perfect special touch.

I have a coworker’s birthday coming up and she is the hardest to shop for.  I thought it would be easiest to give her money so she can use it to buy something that she really wanted.  Rather than just giving her cash in a boring old envelope, I thought it would be fun to make a fun holder to put it in.

Aside from this month’s kit, you only need a paper trimmer, a decorative piece of card stock, and some adhesive.  Easy as that!

I began by folding the paper into thirds, and decorating the front.

image1

I used some of the washi and stickers from the October kit, and topped it off with some ephemera.

image3

On the inside I created a pocket to put the cash in, cutting that side a little lower with the paper trimmer, making it easier to see.  I used adhesive on each side of the pocket to make sure it wouldn’t slip out of the sides of the pocket.

Using a few ephemera pieces, I decorated the top of the pocket and added a few extra touches using one of my favorite stamps from this month’s stamp set.  I love that  you can create so many patterns with it!

Here’s a little close-up of the inside pocket:

image2

I hope you enjoyed today’s little project.  I look forward to sharing again with you next month.

Till next time,

Shayla

Comments

