2016 Kits · Creative Team · May 2016 Kit · Scrapbook Layout

Sometimes More Is More – A Floral Layout | Kathleen

Hey there, Kathleen here again and today I have another layout for you. If I had to describe my scrapbooking style, I’d say that for me usually less is more. There is almost always lots of white space and not too much clutter. With this layout, however, it went a bit differently.

Sometimes I start with the papers/embellishments and sometimes I start with my photo. This time I started with this photo of my engagement ring (you can read more about it & the story behind it >here< if you like 😉 ) in front of a beautiful bouquet of pink & orange ranunculuses (wow, the plural form sounds really weird..).

Ring3

My original plan was to use some of the pretty flower stickers from the Pebbles stickers sheet that is included in the May kit on two of the photo’s corners. But then I used more and more of the stickers and the cluster grew until I ended up with some kind of sticker frame around my photo. I layered some of the stickers beneath the photo and some on top and also let them overlap. When I was done, I lifted the edges of the stickers up the give the whole thing some more dimension.

Shine_Scrapbooking_Layout_ScatteredConfetti_CreativeRetreat_May_6Shine_Scrapbooking_Layout_ScatteredConfetti_CreativeRetreat_May_2

To finish my layout, I added some paint splatters (as usual 😀 ) with my Heidi Swapp Color Shine mists (hot pink & citron), some stitching in different colours that complement the photo and some other stickers and embellishments here and there. I absolutely love how the May kit and especially the sticker sheet coordinate so perfectly with this photo – as if they were made for each other!

Shine_Scrapbooking_Layout_ScatteredConfetti_CreativeRetreat_May_4Shine_Scrapbooking_Layout_ScatteredConfetti_CreativeRetreat_May_5

And this is the finished layout:

Shine_Scrapbooking_Layout_ScatteredConfetti_CreativeRetreat_May_1

What do you think – sometimes more is more? 🙂 What kind of scrapbooker are you: rather more or less of anything?

So, I hope you like this layout – because I’m actually kinda in love with it 😀

One thought on “Sometimes More Is More – A Floral Layout | Kathleen

Comments

