Bible Journaling Basics | Bailey Jean Robert

creative-retreat-july-2016-02

Hi all! I’m Bailey Jean and I’m thrilled to be joining the Creative Retreat team! I have a heart for creative storytelling and infusing daily life with beauty, and the CR kits have been a great way to do just that!

Today I wanted to share with you a glimpse into my journaling Bible using the July kit. For those of you who may be new to the idea, Bible journaling is a form of art journaling typically done in wide-margined Bibles. The paper is the typical thin paper of standard Bibles, which means great care must be taken in the creative process. The stickers and stamps in this month’s CR kit were perfect for a page I had in mind!

creative-retreat-july-2016-04

The “amazing” and “love” stamps caught my attention right away and reminded me of a song I used to sing in youth group in high school, also titled “Amazing Love”. I stamped the two in the top right corner then traced around love with Faber-Castell big brush pens. (The india ink in these pens keeps them from bleeding through the page too much).

I mix-and-matched some of the phrase stickers with my own handwriting, embellishing with dots, plus signs, and hearts as I made my way down the margins. The alphabet sticker set this month had some gorgeous blue stripes, and I decided to throw in a heart in place of the “O” in you to add a little more whimsy.

creative-retreat-july-2016-03

The arrow stamp was repeated towards the bottom once the song lyrics came to an end, then I added some notations in the verses and bottom corner. Stamps are really great to use in your Bible for instant inspiration, but do be mindful of what type of ink you use because some will bleed through the page as well.

creative-retreat-july-2016-05

I’m really excited to go back in with this month’s CR kit and coordinate the opposite page. Such dreamy reds, blues, and pinks make my heart pitter patter.

4 thoughts on “Bible Journaling Basics | Bailey Jean Robert

  1. Cute page! I have a question- does the stamp not give a sharp, clear image? The “love” & “amazing” don’t look like it but I know some people like that look. Unfortunately it bothers me when I don’t get a good full image- those perfectionist tendencies!!

    Like

    1. Hey Bre! When the stamps are used on flat surfaces they are perfect, however sometimes when you are using them in your Bible, the pages aren’t exactly perfect and sometimes might not be as sharp. I hope that helps you! My tricks for those pages that can’t seem to get flat are to stamp them onto a journaling card or a tag, and then adhere into the Bible afterwards. Much love! Xo, Stephanie

      Like

Comments

