2016 Kits · Bible Journaling · Creative Team · October 2016 Kit

Praise Him | Elli

Hello creative friends! Elli here again sharing a page from my Bible and a piece of my heart.  This page was inspired by so many things! I’ve been praying for God to take all my thoughts and put them together to get HIS message across.

img_20161013_134441
Praise Him all day long!

It all started a couple months ago when my pastor (Brad Bell) gave a phenomenal message on the importance of singing songs of praise.  He mentioned that over 100 Psalms speak of responding to GOD at a heart level in song. As Christians we are called to be under the influence of the Spirit, and a natural overflow of this is singing Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual songs.  The message was followed up by a beautiful response to worship, and we sang a Psalm of thanksgiving that I intentionally sang throughout the weeks following.

Oh give thanks to the Lord, for He is good. For His steadfast Love endures forever. Psalm 118:1

So all week I had intentionally been singing this song of praise. I sang it every night as I rocked my baby to sleep. I sang it in the morning as we walked to the park. I sang it as I cleaned the house in the afternoon.  I was singing all day long.

 

img_20161013_134544
Lift up your hands to the holy place and bless the LORD! Psalm 134: 2

God was preparing me. He was preparing my heart to worship and give thanks all day long, all the time, no matter what.  Because you see I was 10 weeks pregnant the Sunday we sang that Psalm in church.  And later that same week, I would find out my baby’s heart had stopped beating. God had taken back the life He had given. I was broken and confused, but that night when I went to put my one year old to bed, I had a choice. Was I still going to sing thanks to the Lord? Was I still going to praise His name? YES,  because when my circumstances change, my God doesn’t. His goodness never changes. There is so much to be thankful for. In fact that night I made a list! Singing His praise in the midst of the pain was an overflow of the Spirit at work in my heart. It was extremely healing for me to sing as I grieved the loss of my unborn baby. Songs are so powerful and God uses them to speak to our hearts.

img_20161013_135001
Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; sing to his name, for it is pleasant! Psalm 135:3

 

This page was also inspired by all the Lauren Daigle songs that I’ve been singing through the grieving process.

Before I bring my need I will bring my heart. Before I lift my cares I will lift my arms. I wanna know you. I wanna find you. In every season. In every moment.

As I said before, the Psalms are filled with praising God through song, and there are many places I could have picked to journal this.  I had already sketched out the praise girl with her arm lifted so I thought this Psalm was fitting.

Lift up your hands to the holy place and bless the LORD! Psalm 134:2

Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; sing to his name, for it is pleasant. Psalm 135:3

I used the alpha stickers that came in this month’s Faith Art Box  to emphasize the “PRAISE HIM” I could have made them pop more by tracing around them or painting behind them, but I really loved the soft look with leaving them as is. I used the “all day long” stamp on a scrap piece of paper that was left after punching out a tab. I finished with adding some of the word/phrase stickers from the kit. I chose these words because when I love His will and can praise Him through trials, I know in Him I am solid as a rock.

img_20161013_134523

I would love to hear what songs of Praise you all are singing right now! Please share in the comments! I would also love to lift you up in prayer if this is an area that has been a struggle for you!

Want to see more of my Bible or hear more of my story? Follow me on Instagram

Blessings, Elli

 

 

 

 

Comments

