Multi-use Cards | Elli

Hello! Elli here sharing my first project using my November Faith Art Box. Today I’m going to share something a little different with you. Instead of sharing a page in my Bible, I’m going to show you some journaling/verse cards I made. img_20161103_143012I initially was going to make a single journaling card to place in my Bible, but then God took me a different direction and really used this process of creating as a way to guide me through scripture and lead me to a confident yes in a decision I needed to make. That’s one of the many things I love about faith art and Bible journaling. The process can be a time of slowing down and listening to what God has been teaching me. It’s often a time of reflection and clarity for me.

img_20161103_144000I started by making little cards using the phrases from last month’s kit  and this month’s kit.  I then decided I wanted to use the atticus alpha stamp set to make verse cards highlighting words that God has been putting on my heart.  I started with the word Abide. This has been my one little word for the year and there is a lot I’ve learned about abiding, but this past month especially I’ve been meditating on the fact that I can do absolutely nothing without Christ. I can do nothing good on my own in my own effort.  I need this reminder daily. Don’t you?

“I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”

John 15:5

img_20161103_143118

 

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”

Matthew 11:28

The next word I stamped was the word Rest. A few months ago I was resting in God’s love and faithfulness and letting others pour into me as I was in the thick of grieving my miscarried baby.  I had originally been planning on doing leadership in a Bible Study I’m a part of and I think God graciously allowed me to rest during this time and have peace about not leading.  But even though I felt God was allowing me to rest, my desire to be in leadership was still there.  And this past week I was asked to pray about stepping back into a leadership role.  The word rest still kept coming to mind and I was a bit confused.  Then I remembered Matthew 11:28-30. Christ says His yoke is easy and His burden is light.  He is with me giving me strength to do His work. True rest is found being in His will, doing His work, with His strength.

“For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Matthew 11:30

img_20161103_143033

“Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.”

1 Corinthians 15:58

My last word is Give. “Give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord.” The Holy Spirit lead me to this verse, and when I read it, it was a moment of clarity for me. God had placed a desire in my heart to do His work.  I had been praying all week about stepping back into leadership and questioning if that was God’s will and purpose for me. Was this the work He had for me? The next day I said yes.  Yes to abiding, yes to resting, yes to giving myself fully to His work. And I am excited!

img_20161103_142953To make these cards, I simply cut my mixed media paper down to size, added some watercolor, and then stamped using Creative Retreat stamps  after it dried.  I was really inspired to find different ways to use the vine stamp included in this month’s kit.  So I tried to do something a little different with each card. You could create an endless amount of unique and personal cards this way.

img_20161103_143053Now what to do with these cute little cards? I will add a little prayer or some journaling on the back then use washi tape to stick these in my Bible.  I will also be using them in my planner and on my bathroom mirror as daily reminders.  There are really so many ways to use little cards like this!  Another idea is to add a bow to them and gift them to a fellow Bible journaling friend or Jesus lover.

I hope you’ve been inspired creatively and spiritually! Please comment below if you have any questions or prayers.

See how I use these cards and more by following me on Instagram.

Blessings,

Elli

 

6 thoughts on “Multi-use Cards | Elli

  1. They are gorgeous and very encouraging to read the messages on each card. Thank you for sharing them. Right now, I am working from home as a translator for a women ministry to provide resources and Bible studies for the women who speak my language. Please pray for this ministry, wisdom from God, time managing between family and ministry, and protection, Please pray also for the other 18 language translators for this ministry who work all around the world. Thank You for praying and God bless you!

    Like

    1. What a wonderful ministry to be a part of Helen! Thank you for sharing your prayer need. I will be praying for you and the work you are doing for the Lord.

      Like

  2. Wonderful post, Elli! Thanks for sharing what God has been putting on your heart. I absolutely love the cards you created……and even more so after reading how He has led you! Blessings, my friend. Angela (maker_mom)

    Like

Comments

