2016 Kits · Bible Journaling · Creative Team · November 2016 Kit

Grace for the humble | Jen

img_2239

Someone asked me the other day how I choose what to verses to focus on in my bible journalling.  For me it varies – sometimes it can be a passage that was preached on in church, sometimes it’s a favourite verse, it could be the verse in my daily devotions book, and occasionally a particular product inspires me.  In the case of this bible entry it was the latter two combined.

My daily reading was James 4:7 which says ‘God opposes the proud but shows grace to the humble.’  My bible version says ‘favour’ rather than ‘grace’ but the verse and explanation in the daily reading fit perfectly with the ‘less of me, more of you’ stamp in this month’s kit.

img_2245

The temptation to be boastful or even just to rest on our own strength and knowledge is powerful in our walk as Christians.  The times when I stop, look and realise I have drifted away from God are invariably those times when I haven’t felt the need for him, because I can do it on my own.  The truth is I can’t and don’t need to do it on my own, I need his power and presence.

I need less of me and more of God and he delights to pour out his grace and favour on those who call on him, to those who are humble.

img_2242

For this page I started by applying a thin layer of acrylic paint using a plastic card.  I love doing this as it immediately takes away the white space which can be intimidating.  Playing around with the stencil which come in the subscribers kit, I found that I could use a ‘smudging tool’ to work blue gellato onto the page to create the plus signs.  I applied the script stamp in grey and my own notes below.  I then added washi tape and various flower stickers to the top and bottom of the page and finished it off by adding the word ‘grace’ using this month’s alpha stickers coloured with some blue watercolour paint.

img_2249

Thank you for reading.  Check out my instagram @jenjenga83 for more bible journaling.

One thought on “Grace for the humble | Jen

Comments

