Playing with stencils | Jen

I am relatively new to bible journaling and paper craft in general, so one of the exciting things about getting a kit is receiving things that I haven’t used much in the past.  This month the stencils that came in the subscription kit gave me something new to play with so I created a couple of simple layouts using two techniques.

img_2289

The first technique I used was heat embossing.  Taking the heart stencil I applied gold Versa Color ink to the page through the stencil.  This took a bit of squishing and smooshing but the heart imprint came out well in the end.  I then applied gold embossing powder, heated with my heat embossing tool and got these lovely rich gold hearts.

 

img_2288

I did all of this on velum and added a hand lettered verse in the centre.  This helped to solve the problem of what to do when you want to journal a verse but you’ve already done something on the page where that verse appears.  Recently I have been considering the amazing truths of our adoption into God’s family so I was keen to journal this verse to remind me, but I already had journalling on that page in my bible.

‘You are no longer a slave, but a son… an heir through God.’ Galatians 4:7

img_2295

By journalling on the velum I was able to add this over the top of the existing journalling so that both can be seen at the same time, and it doesn’t cover up the text.

The second technique I used was to use relief paste.  I applied the relief paste to a page in my faith art journal through a few of the hearts using a plastic card.  The depth of the stencil produced really pronounced, lovely little hearts.

img_2297

I then applied some water colour to the page and, using a black Sharpie, hand lettered the verse from Psalm 39:7 and added some highlights using a white gel pen.

img_2299

I had lots of fun playing with the stencils and dwelling on God’s word.

See more of my pages on Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Playing with stencils | Jen

Comments

