Trust & Surrender | Elli

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths.”

Today I’m sharing a page in my Bible highlighting a very well known and widely memorized verse. Proverbs 3:5-6 is a verse that has already been written on my heart, and the Holy Spirit brings it to mind often; especially when I don’t understand what God is doing in my life or where He is leading me.

img_20161130_133016

Journaling a familiar verse in my Bible really helps me meditate on it with a fresh perspective, letting it speak into my current life circumstances and state of my heart.  I love it when the Holy Spirit gives me further understanding at a heart level rather than just knowing the scripture in my head.

img_20161130_132949
I surrender my whole heart. I trust you with confidence.

What does it really mean for me, in my life right now, to trust in the Lord with all my heart?” So often I try to rely on my own understanding; my own idea of what should be; my own will. I make my own plans that I think are pretty good. But then things don’t go as expected. I am hurt. I am confused. I thought I was going along on the right path. This is often where I decide to trust and submit to the Lord and recognize His ways are good and He is in control. But what if I did this from the start? What if when I start to make plans, I acknowledge His control and hand in all of my ways. What if I fully submit my plans to His will and give up that control. Give up trying to make my paths straight through my own understanding.  This, this, is what I need to do.  A daily, moment by moment, surrender of my heart, trusting in His will not my own.

img_20161130_132930
I added a prayer in the margin here because I kept finding myself praying for help to do this as I meditated on trusting in the Lord with all my heart. I can only trust Him with His help!

 

 I can trust Him with my heart.  I can trust Him with my plans. I can trust Him when I don’t understand. I can do this because I know Him. I know His goodness. And I believe Him. I know that His ways are not my ways, but they are good. They are better. So when my path feels anything but straight, and I have no idea what’s ahead, I can trust, with confidence, that as I surrender to Him and acknowledge Him, He will make it straight.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isahiah 55:8-9

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

Rely on His true word and the help of the Holy Spirit to trust in the Lord with all your heart today, and please comment below if you would like me to pray for you in this area.

img_20161130_132904

To create this page I used the stamps and word stickers from the December Faith Art Box. The sentiments “I surrender” “my whole heart” and “trust with confidence” really spoke to what I was learning  while meditating on this scripture.

Thanks for reading, friends! Many blessings to you this Christmas Season!

Elli

Keep up with me on Instagram!

2 thoughts on “Trust & Surrender | Elli

  1. This blog post came at the exact moment I just finished watching a sermon online from Fresh Life Church. It was on this exact verse. Amazing how God works! I do need continual reminder to always trust in him. Gods way is always good. Thanks so much for this blog post Elli!

    Like

    1. God is so good like that! I always pray that He gives me words for these blog posts and that they would encourage an inspire whoever reads them. Thank you for reading the post and sharing how God blessed you with the timing of this reminder. God bless you, Courtney!

      Like

Comments

