2016 Kits · Bible Journaling · Creative Team · December 2016 Kit

Living Bread | Elli

“I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. And the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.” John 6:51

Merry Christmas, friends! Today I’m sharing a page in my Bible that is mostly notes! I love beautiful Bible journaling pages with encouraging verses and colorful artwork, but sometimes my journaling is focused on teaching points I really want to get in my Bible.

img_20161211_111931
“Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him.” John 6:56

This passage was a difficult one for me to understand. I kept re-reading my BSF notes trying to really grasp the spiritual lesson here and what Jesus was really telling the people to do, telling me to do, when He said, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the son of man and drink his blood, you have no life in you.” John 6:53

It’s important for me to understand this because I desire to obey Jesus. The only way anyone can understand any of this is with the help of the Holy Spirit.  The first step is to believe Jesus. The understanding and ability to obey come after our initial belief. Do you believe?

img_20161211_111822
“I am the bread of life” John 6:35

We are in the midst of celebrating the birth of Jesus, but there is no hope in His birth without the reality of His death. Jesus came into the world to save us from our sins. Jesus says, “For I have come down from heaven, not to do my will but the will of him who sent me.” John 6:38 “For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in Him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.” John 6:40

img_20161211_111855

This page of notes started with an idea I had to use the black alpha stickers to really make the words flesh and blood stand out.  I was originally not planning to do much else with this page, but then I was looking at the stickers included in this month’s kit and they just really helped me narrow in on some of the main themes I was focusing on from my notes. “made new” “forgiveness” “made whole” “I am” “living God” Jesus is the living bread that came from heaven and when I eat His flesh and drink His blood I am forgiven, I am made whole, and I have a new life to live out, always conforming to the life He lived. I love how this page came together using my BSF notes and my Creative retreat stickers.

Blessings!

Elli

side note: all the notes written in the margin of my Bible here are from my Bible Study Fellowship notes on John chapter 6. If you are interested in BSF click here.

Follow me on Instagram here

 

Comments

