Bible Journaling · Creative Team · January 2017 Kit

Love Him | Elli

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” Matthew 22:37

As the new  year begins, many of us make resolutions, goals, plans, or choose one little word to help us make a fresh start and start the year off in the right direction.  I have never been a fan of new year’s resolutions because I know myself. I know my weakness. I know I will not follow through. This is the second year, though, that I’ve chosen a one little word, and I love doing this! My one little word for 2017 is “delight”, and though this passage doesn’t have that word in it, I believe the goal behind every little word I have chosen or will choose can be tied to this passage.

img_20170105_142012_962

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all you soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself.” Luke 10:27

This year I want to delight in Him and the work He has called me to.  I want to delight in loving God and loving People better than I did last year. I know that I am weak. I know that my flesh is always pulling me toward selfish desires and sin. I can only do this in Christ’s strength. Last year my word was “abide”, and God really showed me that apart from Him, I can do nothing! Oh how I need His help to love! Oh how I need His help to delight in loving others! But He is faithful to help, and in my weakness He is strong! The miraculous thing is that He enables us and equips us with everything we need to obey and love Him and others well!

img_20170105_141832_895

Have you chosen a one little word for the year? How is it tied to this commandment? I would love to pray for you as you pursue Christ in this new  year! Please comment below so I know how to pray for you!

img_20170105_141721_051

 

For this page I used the stamps from the January faith art box. I picked out four colors of ink that matched the kit colors and used the little heart stamp as a bullet point to list out the words “heart”, “soul”, “mind”, and “strength” I finished by layering washi tape and some stickers from the kit. The “shine” sticker doubles as a tab. I just put some washi tape on the back of the part sticking up so that it wouldn’t be sticky. I used this “shine” sticker because when we Love God and People the way God calls us to, we will shine brightly!

 

How are you using this month’s kit? Please share with us on Instagram by using the hashtag #creativeretreatkits  You can see more from me on Instagram too at @elli.s_heart

Blessings!

Elli

3 thoughts on “Love Him | Elli

    1. It’s a great first one little word! I’m excited for you, Franne! God is going to bless you so much as you focus on abiding in Him this year! Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Comments

