Rich in Love | Elli

“Return to the Lord your God, for He is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love.” Joel 2:13

Last year I studied the book of Revelation, and going into it I was a bit scared of the God I would see. I was completely shocked to see so much patience, so much love, so much mercy in the descriptions of His judgment and wrath. Why was I so shocked?!? God is good. God is Love. God’s steadfast love endures forever. God is the same yesterday, today, and forever. These are all truths I have known, but it honestly took me studying His wrath to get a better understanding in my heart of just how loving, just, gracious, and merciful He is.

img_20170105_141043_939
The Lord is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger, and rich in love.

God brought me to this verse again this week and I had already underlined it with the word compassionate with a little heart, of course. But I was glancing at the other verses I had highlighted back when studying Revelation. Yes, I wrote out the encouraging verse in the margin of my Bible, but it’s important to note that this chapter is talking about The Day of the Lord and our need to return to Him.

“For the day of the Lord is coming; it is near.” Joel 2:2

The Bible speaks very clearly that, though the Lord is patient and desires all to repent and be saved (2 Peter 3:9) He will pour out His wrath. The day of the Lord will come. NOW is the day of salvation. NOW is the time to see who He is and What He has done to save you. He is so, so good! He desires to pour out His love on you! And His love is perfect, steadfast, never failing. He is rich in love. He IS love.

img_20170105_141309_907
This is my God. This is my King. He is rich in love.

For this page I kept it pretty simple. I used the stamps from the January faith art box to bring more character and variety to my hand lettering. I like how the stamps help me include styles of lettering that are different than my own. I seriously can’t get enough of that LOVE stamp! I also love the way this jewel stamp fit in there. The whole design was pretty much inspired by that little stamp.  To finish the page I added a tab up top. One of my favorite things to do is get creative with my tabs! Again I used the stamps to make it work with the page. I thought the phrase “MY KING” was perfect because here I am highlighting the characteristics of my God, of my KING!

There are so many ways to use this month’s kit. Please share yours with me! I love to check out the creative retreat hashtags on Instagram. So be sure to use #creativeretreatkits so I can see your work and give you some love! You can find me on Instagram too!

Blessings,

Elli

Comments

