Pray More Worry Less | Elli

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

img_20170211_130154_252

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.” John 14:1

Jesus tells His friends, “Let not your hearts be troubled.” The Bible regularly tells us “do not fear” Yet we are so prone to worry. We are so prone to let our minds go to the worst case scenario and consume us with a crippling fear. I know I am. This is sin. This is a choice. While listening to the BSF lecture on John chapter 14, my teaching leader said, “You’re either worried or you’re trusting God.”

How often do we acknowledge the sin of worry for what it is? How often do we accept it as a reality of #momlife. As a mom it’s my job to worry right? How often have you heard that? What peace does that bring? What hope?

Jesus tells us to not let our hearts be troubled. He doesn’t want this for us. He calls us to trust Him and to believe in who He is and the promises He’s given. Just after telling His disciples to not let their hearts be troubled, He speaks of the Helper the Father will send to those who believe in Jesus. Whatever Jesus asks us to do, He provides help to do that very thing. He makes it possible. We are not left alone to try to will ourselves to worry less. We have to surrender and ask for help. We have to pray! Worrying less is the result of praying more. Only with the help of the Holy Spirit can we find freedom from worry.

img_20170211_131023_365

“Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.” James 5:16

Jesus also made us to rely on each other, fellow believers.  We are to confess our sins and pray for one another.  I have known firsthand how powerful it is to have the body of Christ pray for me. Pray for me not to let fear and worry take hold. Their prayers for me are powerful. My worry has been replaced with peace and my fear has been replaced with hope. God’s got this. He is in control always. And I choose to trust Him. I choose to pray more and worry less.

img_20170211_130501_040

This page is a little different than my usual style. I wanted to cover up some bleed through and knew acrylic paints would do the trick. I had no plan of action for this page. I just went for it and put paint down first. I knew I wanted to use the “pray” stamp from this month’s kit because I just love how Ashley lettered it! I cut out the arrow from the devotional, added the word powerful with the alpha stickers, layered washi tape and stickers, and topped the page with a bow clip. I also used the Pray More stamp set on this page which is not included in this month’s kit, but went well with what was on my heart when I did this entry in my Bible. I kind of love the eclectic look of this page and had fun with this process.

img_20170211_130705_990

I hope these words have encouraged your heart and I hope this page has inspired you creatively. Follow me on Instagram if you’d like to see more from me!

Blessings and peace,

Elli

2 thoughts on “Pray More Worry Less | Elli

  1. Thank you. I needed to read this today. God is using me — I know — but I’m feeling really worn down. I’m not a worrier, but I do try to control to prevent chaos. Yes, God’s got this.

    Like

    1. I’m glad God used this post to encourage you, Bristol. And you are so right God’s got this. We can rest in knowing He is in full control. May He give you strength and joy as He continues to use you! Many blessings, friend!

      Like

Comments

