here’s my heart | Ashley

FullSizeRender (4)It is no secret that our family LOVES Lauren Daigle! We have her music videos downloaded (and on a loop) and she is definitely one of our favorite Christian artists. My three year old knows all of the lyrics to her CD and if you follow me on IG you have seen the “minivan concerts” that she puts on! 🙂

When I saw this month’s stamp set I knew I had to journal the lyrics to one of LD songs! Psalms was the perfect place to add these praiseful (why do I make up words?)  lyrics. Songs can be so powerful and a great addition to your Bible Journaling.

april heart stamp

The font of “heart” was so inspiring I ended up imitating it on the word “true” as well.

FullSizeRender_1 (3)

Usually, my first step is to pick the background colors. I looked at the stickers and could either pick one or a few colors that match – or contrast – or go rogue and pick on that doesn’t match at all. This time I chose the same shades as the stickers.

Next, choose your medium – paint, crayons, stencils, colored pencils, whatever you have. I chose watercolors because I could quickly mix and match the specific shades of sticker colors.

FullSizeRender_4 (2)

I added the “heart + soul” sticker tab (LOVE THESE) and added some matching washi. And how amazing is that leatherette bow clip – Danielle, I need these in #ALLTHECOLORS!!!!

FullSizeRender_2 (3)I usually stamp or sketch the main word in the phrase or verse I am doing first. They I build above and below it. Mixing stickers, stamps and my hand writing to make a unique collage of words. I added a bit of white gel pen marker to the insides of the HEART + TRUE +leaves to make them pop!

FullSizeRender_3 (3)I love the look of layers and art on top of art. So I added a splatter of watered down acrylic white paint. I wanted it to show up against the watercolor so I didn’t use too much water – just enough to make it splattable (not a word – but you get what I’m saying, right!)

FullSizeRender (4)So there you have it!

I pray that your cry will be for God to speak to your heart that you’ll be able to discern what He has your life.

Happy creating,

Ashley

@magmagandme

2 thoughts on “here’s my heart | Ashley

  1. Oooh, Ashley! Love, love, love! Content: It’s wonderful how great music/lyrics can keep the Lord with us throughout the day! Lauren Daigle is special. Yes I can hear this song as I read your page. “Here’s my heart, Lord”. Really that’s what it’s all about, right? Love the ❤️ L.D. 🎶 notation, too. Technique: The watercolor background really grabbed me on this one. I love how you added so much color to the page — and great colors! — without obscuring the words on the page. While the stamps and stickers are mostly in the margin, your page does not feel at all limited to a 2-inch margin. Other favorite things — Your addition of black pen to the yellow letter stickers, polka dots to the heart stickers, and adding white gel pen to fill in open areas of where you stamped. This is a great example of modifying kit elements to “make them your own.” This a really cohesive page. You REALLY inspired me with this one. Thanks so much! My CRK is on the way!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bristol you are the sweetest! Thank you for reading my post and making me sound way more purposefully artistic than I am!!! haha. I can’t wait for you to get your kit – they are the perfect jumping off set – open for your own interpretation and detailed enough to get your started if your stuck. Tag me on IG if you post something, I’d love to see! –@magmagandme

      Like

Comments

