Personal Prayer Cards | Elli

 

“Early in the morning, He came again into the temple, and all the people were coming to Him, and He sat down and began teaching them.” John 8:2

IMG_20170329_151401_908Prayer is so vital to our walk with the Lord. I know the power of prayer. I know the importance of prayer. I know the privilege of prayer. Yet, I often struggle to come to Jesus, sit with Him in the quiet of the morning, and let Him teach me through prayer. I’m studying the book of John right now in BSF. What an example Jesus was in teaching us how to pray…in teaching us how to love, obey, trust, rest, and all things that we need for spiritual growth and a faith that is useful. Jesus is our ultimate teacher.

I know that praying scripture is a good way to be certain that my prayers are in line with God’s will for me. And when we pray according to His will He hears our prayers and answers! (see 1 John 5:14-15) So I decided to make some simple prayer cards using scripture as my guide.

IMG_20170329_151827_866

I made 7 cards total, but will likely add more to my set! On the front of each card is the phrase, “Teach my heart to…” with one word highlighted. The words I chose were: seek, trust, obey, rely, rest, love, and hope. On the back side of each card I wrote out 1-2 verses. It was so hard to narrow down my list of verses for these cards as there are many that would be perfect. But I used the ones that are most meaningful to me in this season, and in my personal walk with the Lord. If you decide to make your own, I would encourage you to look at multiple scripture options and see where God leads you!

Below is a series of pictures that shows kind of a flip through of my stack of cards and the order in which I go through them.

The stamp set from the April faith art box was perfect for creating these cards! It made it so fast and easy! First I cut some cardstock paper to make 3X4 cards. I then placed my stamps on my acrylic block and stamped the entire phrase (teach my heart to) all at once. I did this step on LOTS of cards before moving on to the next step. Once I finished stamping the phrase and the extra details on the front of the cards, I got my creative retreat atticus alpha stamp set out and stamped my focus words. I used various chalk inks to match the colors of the kit. Then I used colored pencils to finish the front of each card. On the back I kept things very simple. I added a strip of washi tape and used the alpha stickers from the kit to highlight the word for that card. I wrote out my verses, punched holes in the cards, added them to this nifty ring, and they were ready to go! I love that I can easily add more cards to my set!

IMG_20170329_152522_720

Since making these cards, I have started intentionally waking up earlier to spend some quiet time with the Lord in prayer before the rest of the household wakes up. I get my coffee and I sit down with these cards and I pray for the Lord to transform my heart and teach me to live according to His word.

I enjoy these little cards so much, I think I’ll have to make a few sets as gifts! I hope you have been inspired today! If you end up making similar cards and share them on instagram, be sure to tag me and use the hashtag #creativeretreatkits so I can see!

Seeking Him,

Elli (@elli.s_heart)

Comments

