April 2017 Kit · Bible Journaling · Creative Team

6 Ways to Surrender to God | Finn

CR april 2

Hi friends! Its Finn here, join me today as we dig into ways we can surrender to the Lord.

Today I am in Proverbs. I saw the sticker “surrender” on the creative retreat sticker sheet and knew I wanted to meditate on this.

My son, give me your heart, and let your eyes observe my ways. Proverbs 23:6

For me there are some things that are easy to surrender to the Lord and then there are some things that are harder. There are also many things that I have to surrender to the Lord daily.

I don’t believe surrender is something we do just once, but that it is something we do daily as we come back to the Lord consistently and meditate on His word.

Today I want to talk about 6 ways we can surrender to the Lord.

Give it to the Lord

Before we talk about how we can give and surrender to God, we must address what it means to give. You see, we must not give with the wrong motives and we must constantly be checking our hearts for any offensive ways in us especially when it comes to giving to God.

The English definition of the word give is to present voluntarily and without expecting compensation, to hand to someone, to place in someone’s care.

We must not give or surrender to God because we want something from Him. No, we must surrender and submit to Him because we know that His ways are better than ours. Because we love Him and He loves us. Because we know that He is faithful even if He doesn’t answers our prayers right away or the way we want Him to. He is a God that does everything for the good of those who love Him.

When we surrender something to God, we are handing it to Him and placing it in His care. We are declaring our trust for Him as we hand over our lives as hard as it can be.

cr surrender 2

1. Surrender Our Hearts

The first one is our hearts. The first part of proverbs 23:26 says my son, give me your heart.

Our hearts are the center of our personality, especially with reference to intuition, feeling or emotion. It is the innermost or central part of anything. That is why we are told to also guard our hearts, because it is the wellspring of life (Proverbs 4:23). Everything we do flows from it.

We must give God our intuition and rely on his guidance through His Holy Spirit. We must give God our feelings and emotion in exchange for His truth which is trustworthy (Revelations 22:6).

2. Surrender Our Minds

The verse that comes to mind when I think of surrendering our minds to Christ comes from 2 Corinthians

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:5

We must take hold of every thought that comes into our mind, make it obedient to Christ, and if it comes from the enemy we must cast it out of our mind immediately. Submitting our minds to Christ actually protects us. We demolish any lie that the enemy tries to tell us by testing it against the Word of God.

3. Surrender Our Ways

The second half of proverbs 23:26 says “and let your eyes observe my ways”. If we are observing His ways which is His manner, characteristics, plans, and His means for attaining a goal, then ultimately we are laying aside our fleshly ways to follow His.

The word obverse has many definitions and here are some. It means to perceive, regard with attention, especially so as to see or learn something. It means to watch, view, for a special purpose. It means to keep or maintain in one’s action or conduct. And observe is also defined as to obey.

We must maintain (not perfectly) the conduct He wants us to keep. We must learn from His word and we must obey it. We must exchange our ways for His ways because even though His ways are not our ways, they are always better.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9

4. Surrender Our Attention

The message bible translates this verse “dear child, I want your full attention;”

Dear child, I want your full attention; please do what I show you. Proverbs 23:26, MSG

If you are a parent, like myself, then you know that your children are more likely to obey you, if you first captivate their full attention by having them look at you before giving them an instruction, warning, or discipline.

The same way us parents so desire for our children to give us their attention so we can train them up, our Heavenly Father desires our attention so much more. He wants us looking to Him and for Him so He can guide us. He loves us more than we could ever know. We must surrender our attention to Him so we can start learning from Him.

5. Surrender Our Life

As I searched the many translations for this one verse, I came across The Voice translation, which brings us to this point.

My son, Devote yourself to me fully. Observe my ways, and follow my directions. Proverbs 23:26, voice

When we devote our lives to God we are making a commitment to Him. He is asking us to consecrate ourselves to Him which requires a powerful dedication. And He doesn’t just ask us to devote ourselves, but to devote ourselves fully. Once we do this, we will start to see the power of God work in us and through us. We no longer live for ourselves, but for Him.

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me. Galatians 2:20

6. Surrender Our People

Last, but not least we must surrender our people. We must surrender the people in our lives who we love dearly, to God. Trusting that He has promised a hope and a future for them also (Jeremiah 29:11).

We do this through prayer, it is our tool. If we have a family member who needs to know Christ but we don’t know how to share, pray. If we have a family member who has rejected Jesus, pray. If we have a family member who is hurting so bad and we know the answer for them to be healed, but they don’t understand, pray.

Be fervent and faithful in prayer for the ones you love. We can not control them or force them into a relationship with Jesus, He has given us free will, but we can pray for them always. Fight for them not with words, but on your knees in prayer.

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12

Surrendering through bible journaling

I have struggled with fear, mainly the fear of sleeping in my house alone. I remember one night when my husband was at a men’s retreat, I woke up in the middle of the night with the spirit of  fear oppressing me.

I walked to my kitchen table at three am, sat down and opened my bible. I opened up my devotional to Isaiah 41:10

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

I spent the next three hours in His word journaling. As I sat there I could feel the protection surrounding me and I could feel the fear leaving me.

That night bible journaling allowed me to focus on God and draw near to Him. It allowed me to declare the truth of His word over my life and it allowed me to really meditate on scripture as I casted my cares on Him.

I even used the create retreat “pray more worry less” stamp set that night. Which states fear not and Gods got this!

I surrendered my fear to Him that night and I continue to surrender it to Him every time it tries to come creeping in again.

Page Process

The first thing I did with this page using the creative retreat April kit was swipe some acrylic paint down with a card. I also dipped the heart stamp in paint and stamped it on the page. After I did that, I used white to cover most of the color so it would just be peeking through. I then used the stamp set to spell out “ with all my heart to my lord” and placed the “surrender” sticker at the top. Then I spelled out “all of me needs all of you Jesus” with sticker sheet. The last things I did was put the heart stickers on, circled the verse, and placed that adorable purple clip at the top of the page.

Don’t forget to stamp the date!

God is so good and faithful my friends. Surrender your life to Him and He will work all things for your good.

 

CR surrender

 

About the author

Finn is a wife and a mother of two, whos heart is to encourage women to be vessels for the Lords light even in the midst of dark valley seasons. She is passionate about God and she is passionate about sharing His word with others. If you were encouraged by todays post you can find more of Finn at:

Blog valleysoflight.com

Instagram @valleysoflight

Pinterest Valleys Of Light

Facebook FINN RUBY @valleysoflight

2 thoughts on “6 Ways to Surrender to God | Finn

  1. Wow…so much to meditate on. Each entry on “Surrender” is a devotional onto itself. I may print out a copy of your post and keep it handy. Lots to pray about. Thank you SO much for the time you put into this entry.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Bristol! I am so honored that you would say that! I’m so thankful God used this for you and I’m confident He will continue to work in your life in such powerful ways. He is so good

      Like

Comments

