My Guide to the End | Elli

“It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; He will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” Deuteronomy 31:8

IMG_20170427_142456_319

My husband and I recently visited the Big Island of Hawaii. While there my husband signed us up for a zip-line excursion. I have a fear of heights, but for some reason I didn’t think this would be too scary. I pictured flying through beautiful scenery, but I really had no idea what I was in for! Had I known I would be soaring over a 250ft waterfall through a 450ft ravine, I may not have been so willing and eager to go.

The remarkable thing is that I had no fear while completing this 7 line course! At the end of the tour I kept saying, “I can’t believe I just did that! I can’t believe I wasn’t more afraid!” and I started wondering why. There were a few things I noticed about the tour as I replayed it all in my mind. There were things that helped me not become crippled with fear. One thing was that the course itself was set up in a way that eased me into feeling comfortable and secure on the line. The first line we did was very close to the ground and very short…not really thrilling at all. Each line got a little longer and a lot higher off the ground. The second thing that helped me was we had fantastic tour guides. I mean they were THE BEST. They were funny, kept the conversation going, and were genuine, nice guys. I quickly felt secure and safe as they sent me down the line and caught me at the end. I didn’t know what I was doing or what was coming next, but I trusted them and the equipment to see me through and keep me safe. I trusted them so much that I literally ran off that final high tower to soar for 2 minutes over a huge ravine and a breathtaking waterfall. I’m so glad I didn’t let fear cripple me from participating in the highlight of my time in Hawaii.

IMG_20170427_143714_730

So why am I sharing all this? Well because God showed me a connection to my life and my walk with Him through this fun little excursion. These lyrics from “In Your Presence” by elevation worship kept playing in my head on our drive back to Kona.

“You will be our guide to the end, to the end. The Lord is with me;

He will not forsake me.”

God is my guide through life, and He is the best guide I could ever have. He is faithful. He is trustworthy. He loves me. He sees what’s ahead and prepares me for it every step of the way equipping me with everything I need. I can live my life fearless because He is with me. He goes before me. I can trust Him and not be afraid even when I don’t know what’s ahead. I can be confident that my final destination is Heaven and He will guide me safely there.

“He will be our guide even to the end” Psalm 48:14

Some may think the Christian life is boring, but when you live life trusting Him and doing things you would never do on your own and seeing God do amazing things you would never have dreamed of, you can see that the Christian life is actually very exciting and thrilling. And it becomes more so as you continue on, growing in Him, and trusting Him more and more.

IMG_20170427_143919_043

For this page I really wanted to journal in Psalm 48:14, but I didn’t have an empty margin to work with #biblejournalingproblems. I asked the Lord to show me another verse to capture what He had been teaching me. He lead me to chapter 31 of Deuteronomy. I still wanted to include psalm 48 so I made a journaling card and clipped it in. On the back I wrote a short prayer. In the margin I used the stamps and stickers from the May faith art box. These flowers were so perfect for this entry because they remind me of the large, beautiful hibiscus flowers that were growing along our path from zip-line to zip-line.

IMG_20170427_143142_928

Thank you for allowing me to share with you today, and I pray you will fearlessly follow our good guide, our awesome God, as He calls you to unknown, possibly scary places. Be encouraged, He is with you always!

Guided by Jesus,

Elli

Find me on Instagram here

Don’t forget to share how you’re using this month’s kit!

Be sure to use the hashtag #creativeretreatkits

 

2 thoughts on “My Guide to the End | Elli

Comments

