Bible Journaling · Creative Team · May 2017 Kit

Strong Tower | Cristin

IMG_0247

Hi everyone! This is Cristin and I wanted to share a bible journaling page I’ve been working on using the May Faith Art box. I love using the word stickers that come with the kit, and two stickers jumped out at me from this month’s sticker sheet: “strong” and “tower.”

So, here we go! I found a few verses in Proverbs that talk about the Lord being our strong tower. Here they are:

The name of the Lord is a strong fortress;

the godly run to him and are safe.

The rich think of their wealth as a strong defense;

they imagine it to be a high wall of safety.

Haughtiness goes before destruction;

humility precedes honor.

Proverbs 18:10-12 NLT

When I moved across the country a few years ago, I moved to a place where I knew no one. A few acquaintances I had spoken to for a few hours at the most, sure, but no one besides my husband. All my friends, family, and loved people were over a thousand miles away.

I hate to oversimplify the process that followed, but it was a difficult move for me. Fortunately, I started bible journaling shortly after the move, which in turn caused me to spend more time in His Word. And then I learned to lean more on the Lord. What I discovered was this: we can depend on the Lord as our Rock and Strong Tower. We can lean on Him because when we are weak, He is strong. When we try to rely on ourselves, or things we can control or buy, our focus is on ourselves and what we can do: me, me, me. The Lord wants us to rely on Him!

Maybe you have a big move coming up, or a job change, or something that’s stressing you out. Remember, you don’t have to be alone. Talk to the Lord. Ask a friend for prayer. I wrote a prayer on the lower half of my page to remind myself to trust Him.

IMG_0241

In the making of today’s page, I wanted to emphasize the greens in the kit, so I decided to watercolor my background and make it different shades of green (and then a little pink). I also have some new masking liquid, so I decided to mask off dots of my background. Masking liquid can be applied to your page to areas where you don’t want watercolor to touch. Here’s how it looks:

IMG_0243

My masking fluid (my local art store had several brands, I just picked one) has a narrow tip, so I just squeezed out randomly shaped dots onto the page. The next part is hard: waiting for it to dry!

IMG_0244

Next, I mixed up a green watercolor palette. I mixed a few custom shades by blending together greens and then greens and blues. I just used what I had. Next, I took my water brush and wet down the background that I wanted to have color – I used the brush all by itself, and clear water to do that. I wanted to apply the paint to the wet background so the edges where the colors would meet would softly bleed into each other.

IMG_0245

Then, I just made shapes of color onto the wet background, putting one shade next to another. No specific plan, just putting the colors wherever!

After the page is dry, the dotted masking fluid peels up easily when you rub it with your fingers or use an adhesive pick up square. A watercolor artist advised me not to let the masking liquid sit too long before removing it (like don’t let it sit for weeks).

The remaining page came together with some fun flower and heart stickers from the kit, and one of the labels made a fun place to stamp the date. I also used the tiny heart stamp from last month’s kit. And finally, the cute bow clips! The green ribbon and pink gingham bows are just the cutest!!

IMG_0241

Thanks so much for reading my blog post. You can pick up a subscription starting with this month’s kit here. And if you’d like to keep in touch, find me here! <3, Cristin

2 thoughts on “Strong Tower | Cristin

Comments

