Bible Journaling · Creative Team · May 2017 Kit

But First, Jesus | Cristin

IMG_0408

Hi friends! It’s Cristin here and I wanted to write today about a passage in Matthew I read recently all about priorities. Specifically, what (actually, who!) comes first. I’m going to be sharing a page in my bible that I illustrated using the May Faith Art Box of the month kit, which can be found here.

At night, I like to reflect on the day that just ended. A good, productive day is one where everything gets done: laundry washed, dried, and folded up neatly in drawers,  food prepped in the fridge, work tasks completed on schedule, quality time with my husband, and even a few seconds to catch up on the YouTube queue. I wish I was describing every day! Ha! Far from it.

Some mornings, I feel behind before I even begin! Have you ever been there? I read this passage yesterday in Matthew, and I want to share it with you:

“If you love your father or mother more than you love me, you are not worthy of being mine; or if you love your son or daughter more than me, you are not worthy of being mine. If you refuse to take up your cross and follow me, you are not worthy of being mine. If you cling to your life, you will lose it; but if you give up your life for me, you will find it.”     Matthew 10:37-39

When I first read this passage, I made a mental note that these are the things I need to do in order to live a life worthy of Jesus. And then I realized what He is calling us to is this: absolute commitment and devotion. We must love Him the most. We must put Him first. He is the most important. He>I. His plans > my plans.

I know I’m going to be thinking and processing this passage for a while, but this is the message I chose to put in the margin: the day awaits with all of its responsibilities, but first, Jesus. His kingdom come, His will be done!

For this page, I chose to keep things simple. Focusing on the main message: Jesus before all else.IMG_0410

I pulled out my Neocolor II watercolor crayons to add a little color to my background. I only own a few colors, but I noticed I had just the right ones to match the May kit! I used the crayons to randomly scatter plus signs in the margin, and near the binding.

IMG_0412

I then used a waterbrush to gently go over each mark, blending the water soluble crayon so it took on the appearance of watercolor. It does make the lines wider, but I love how that looked. I added the “But First” words using the pretty pink & green alpha in this month’s kit, and stamped “Jesus” and “worthy” onto the page.

IMG_0409

Here’s the finished page. I used the “Jesus” yellow sticker from the main sticker sheet and one of those fun heart stickers to make a tab for the page. I did later add a prayer underneath. I like adding a personal note so that when I read it later, I can remember more specifically what I was learning. Do you do the same thing?

If you haven’t picked up one of the May kits yet or if you haven’t subscribed to the Faith Art Box of the Month, you can do that here. Thanks so much for reading my post today! If you’d like to connect on Instagram, you can find me here.  🙂 Cristin

Comments

