Bible Journaling · Creative Team · June 2017 Kit

With Love | Cristin

IMG_0817

Hi, friends. It’s Cristin and I have a bible journaling page to share with you using the June kit from Creative Retreat. I love this passage in 1 Corinthians 16:13-14:

Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong.

And do everything with love.

Especially that verse 14…and do everything with love. It’s the “with love” part that jumped out at me. Recently, we had an out of town friend stay at our house. I did the usual things to get the guest space ready…and I caught myself trying to hurry up and I even resented the time these tasks were taking. Then I stopped, and thought, the way to value this guest is to serve them in love.

I hopped up with a renewed sense of purpose and added a few water bottles, magazines, a cozy lamp and a few other touches to make the guest space welcoming. Just a few extra minutes, but an entire heart shift. You see, the with love changes everything. It’s like signing a letter to someone you care about: With Love, (Your Name Here). With Love, I’m doing these things. Most importantly, out of our love for Christ, I put your needs in front of my own.

In the page I journaled, I started on the page with the main verse in 1 Corinthians. I wanted to play off the love theme and traced a heart shape onto my page, then filled it with acrylic paint.

IMG_0818

I love the “Note to Self” sticker and the word sticker “love” echoed the exact sentiment I wanted to illustrate. And that little heart stamp perfectly popped a little extra love onto the page. And, I added some alpha stickers. I love how the kits come with alphabet stickers so I can always create the perfect word that I need.

IMG_0819

To reinforce the “loving others” mindset of this page, I added scripture references across the bottom. Since this page is at the end of the book of 1, I took advantage of the extra space to tie in this message with additional references from elsewhere in the New Testament. I love how I can look at the page and see other important verses relating to loving others.

Lastly, I filled in the space with a yellow dry gel highlighter. I used what I had handy, but a marker, paint, colored pencils, watercolor crayons – they all work!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post! You can find me on Instagram here where I post more bible journaling inspiration. And if you haven’t signed up for a subscription to receive a monthly box of bible journaling supplies, head over here to creativeretreatkits.com to sign up and start your subscription with next month’s box!

One thought on “With Love | Cristin

Comments

