Bible Journaling · Creative Team · June 2017 Kit

A Prayer for Righteousness | Finn

CR june 5

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith for faith, as it is written, “The righteous shall live by faith.” Romans 1:16-17

The more I know God the more I desire to live a life that is pleasing to Him. I have a passion for women to know Gods love, but how can I share that love and truth if I am not walking by it. How can I be an ambassador for Christ if I have not grabbed hold of the gift that has been given to me. A gift that has been given to you as well.

Righteousness.

The Gift

In Jesus we are given the gift of righteousness. He was a blameless man who took on all sins so that in Him we could be counted righteous. There is not one who is righteous apart from Jesus, we have all fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). But we have been given a gift that we receive through faith.

The word righteousness in Greek means “the condition acceptable to God.” It is upright living that aligns with Gods expectations. Because we are in Christ we are in the condition that is acceptable to God, we are right with God because He took on the penalty of sin for us. Our thinking has been transformed and we now think correctly according the word of God, which is truth.

For if, by the trespass of the one man, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive God’s abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ! Romans 5:17

We are now able to obtain this gift of righteousness, but it is our choice whether we will arm ourselves with it.

The Armor

In Ephesians 6 Paul gives us an image of the armor of God. Why does he give us a description of armor? Because this life is a spiritual battle and as soon as you receive Christ, you step into frontlines of the battle.

The war has already been won, the enemy has been defeated, but Satan still tries to convince us other wise. So we must arm ourselves with the armor that God has been provided for us.

Righteousness in the armor of God is the breastplate. If you think about it the breastplate is the piece of armor that guards our heart. In scripture the heart is described as the well spring of life and we are told to guard it.

Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it. Proverbs 4:23

How do we guard our heart? By casting off our old self daily and choosing to put on the righteousness of Christ. By choosing to live and align our lives by the truth of Gods word.

The breast plate of righteousness is the second piece of armor Paul tells us to put on, the first is the belt of truth. He tells us to stand firm with the belt of the truth firmly bulked around our waist, with the breast plate of righteousness in place (Ephesians 6:14).

Obedience to the word of God leads to righteous living and righteousness is a piece that guards us. This is all put in place for our good so we can stand against the schemes of the one who wants to destroy us.

CR June 3

The Life

There is no way we can get more righteous then we are in Christ when we received Him through faith, because it was a gift. Like our salvation, righteousness is not something we work for. It is not a set of rules that we are saved by. We have an abundance of grace and righteousness is a gift, but God does want us to uphold that righteousness in our lives.

Living a righteous life simply means living a life that is aligned with Gods truth.

When Paul talks about how we are slaves to righteousness in Romans 6, he is telling us that because of our obedience to God, giving up our will to do the will of God, we are lead to righteousness. Paul is asking us “don’t we know that when we obey someone we become slaves to the one who we obey?”

Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone as obedient slaves, you are slaves of the one you obey—whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness? Romans 6:16

Do you want to be obedient to your sins or do you want to walk in the obedience of God which leads to righteous living. It is a choice that we must make daily. Every day we wake up and have a choice weather we are going to be obedient to the will of God for our lives or if we will sink back into our fleshliness and the will of our sins.

Do you want to be a servant to the one who works all things for good of those who love Him or do you want to be a servant to the one who comes to steal kill and destroy?

We have been given the gift of righteousness through Christ, but it is our choice whether we will accept that gift and arm ourselves with it daily as we uphold the truth over our lives and walk in the gift of righteousness.

And thank God for the abundance of grace He provides when we do fall and stumble. Thank God that we can ask for forgiveness and then keep persevering in righteousness.

We walk by faith, we live by faith, and we receive by faith in Jesus Christ.

CR june 1

A Prayer

Lord I come before you today in thanksgiving. Truly I am blessed that you have given us your own righteousness through Christ. Thank you for allowing me to rest in the fact that my sins have been completely forgiven. I praise you Lord that your spirit is always there to provide His renewing to my mind. You have given me a new pulse with the new life of Christ and the fruit of the light which results in goodness, righteousness, and truth.

Thank you Lord you are truly amazing. Lord I ask you for the ongoing, renewing strength of your sanctifying spirit. That I will continue to put off my old self and be renewed in the spirit of my mind. Lord I ask you for the Holy courage to put on my new self daily, which is created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness. Lord I put on righteousness and it clothes me.

I will continue to make the conscious decision to cast off the works of darkness and put on the armor of light. Lord I am choosing to protect my soul by guarding my heart for I know how it is the source of life. My heart will no longer be exposed to satans attacks as I align my life with your truth Lord.

Lord continue to soften my heart so I may always receive your word with a humble and teachable spirit. Lord I have faith and hope in you. I trust you and believe that you are softening and preparing [the name of any loved ones you have] so that the implanted word that is in his/her heart will soon take effect. I thank you for the breakthrough you are about to preform.

I thank you for your faithfulness as I cry out to you Lord. I thank you for the answers to my prayers that you have already released. I will stand firm on your righteousness and holiness as I choose to clothe myself with it daily. In Jesus name. Amen.

Page Process

I kept this entry really simple. I want to encourage you that bible journaling doesn’t always need to be an artistic page. It doesn’t need to be complicated all that matters is that you are soaking in the word of God. I started by using a cross stencil on the page. Then I spelled out righteousness with the creative retreat sticker sheet for this month, and then stamped strong faith with the stamp set.

Don’t forget to date it.

super simple!

Hint hint: This kit sold out before it was even revealed! I highly recommend that you preorder the July kit here. You wont be sorry! Thank you for your love and support!

 

About the author

Finn is a wife and a mother of two, whos heart is to encourage women to be vessels for the Lords light even in the midst of dark valley seasons. She is passionate about God and she is passionate about sharing His word with others. If you were encouraged by todays post you can find more of Finn at:

Blog valleysoflight.com

Instagram @valleysoflight

Pinterest Valleys Of Light

Facebook FINN RUBY @valleysoflight

 

CR june 6

Comments

