Bible Journaling · Creative Team · Creative Tip · June 2017 Kit

Creating Stamped Tip-ins | Cristin

IMG_0989

Hi friends! It’s Cristin and I have a bible journaling page to share with you using the June kit from Creative Retreat Kits. Today, I want to focus on this verse in Psalm 9:1:

“I will praise you, Lord, with all my heart;

I will tell of all the marvelous things you have done.”

The stickers in this month’s kit are perfect for illustrating this verse! I opened up my bible to get started and then realized I had just journaled on this page last month! That’s ok, I have a few other options. I opened up anther bible, and that one was already full on this page, and I opened another bible…also full! Three bibles, already journaled on this page. Apparently, I REALLY like Psalm 9! 🙂

Sometimes, I opt to journal on the opposite page of where my journaling focus is, and that’s what I ended up doing. I thought this would be a good opportunity to make a stamped tip-in, so I don’t distract from my previous journaling, but I could still create a unique entry.

IMG_0980

A tip-in is a card or page that you tuck inside your bible. You can clip or tape them in, or just tuck them into the pages. You can also journal on the back of the card or underneath for a little hidden spot for a prayer or private reflection. For this card, I cut a piece of white cardstock 3.25″ x 4.5.” I love the leafy plant stamp that came in this month’s kit and I wanted to edge the entire card with a leafy border.

IMG_0981

I stamped around the entire card using black Versafine ink. I stamped only part of the plant image onto the card, and the scrap paper below caught the ex. That’s the nice thing about clear stamps – you can see exactly where you’re stamping for perfect placement. I stamped the corners diagonally, and the rest so the leaves pointed inward.

IMG_0982

I mixed up some watercolors to match the kit’s colors and used a waterbrush to fill in the leaves randomly with color. After the paint dried, I popped the word stickers into place. I needed one more word sticker, “heart,” to complete the wording. I used the clear “heart” stamp with Cerulean blue ink, and stamped it onto pink cardstock. A little trimming, and I had a new word “sticker.” Lastly, using a ruler, I drew an outlined border .25″ inside the edge with a black pen.

IMG_0984

I opted to washi tape my card into place on top of the opposite page. I can still lift it up to see Psalm 7 underneath! The bows shown here also came in the June kit – how cute are they?!

Thank you for reading my tutorial today! For more bible journaling inspiration, you can find me on Instagram here or read my previous blog post here. If you haven’t signed up for a Creative Retreat Kits subscription, head over here to start your subscription with July’s box!

Comments

