Bible Journaling · Creative Team · July 2017 Kit

In the Light | Cristin

IMG_1212

Hi friends! Let’s play with the new July Faith Art Box from Creative Retreat! I have a bible journaling page to share with you, and a fun tip for using your ink pads.

My favorite bible verses to journal are joyful passages praising God for His goodness and mercy. This is one reason why I love journaling in the Psalms so much! Sometimes, I come across a passage that makes me stop and think. And process..and process. This is one of those passages! It’s a section in John where Jesus is speaking, right after He tells Nicodemus that God loved the world so much, he gave his one and only Son. I’ll copy the passage below.

“There is no judgment against anyone who believes in him. But anyone who does not believe in him has already been judged for not believing in God’s one and only Son. And the judgment is based on this fact: God’s light came into the world, but people loved the darkness more than the light, for their actions were evil. All who do evil hate the light and refuse to go near it for fear their sins will be exposed. But those who do what is right come to the light so others can see that they are doing what God wants.” John 3:18-21 NLT

“Those who do right come to the light so others can see that they are doing what God wants.” Hmmm… Why would anyone choose the darkness instead of the Light that is Jesus? It seems to me that it’s our human nature to self-preserve and hide the bad stuff. In contrast, Jesus points out that if we love him, we will humbly walk in his Light, so that others see that it is God’s handiwork in us, his transforming power at work in us, and not something from ourselves. I love how when Jesus speaks, he always gets to the heart of the matter.

For this page, I decided to create a crisp text box background using pink ink. I masked off the margins and text of the bible using simple sticky notes. I stuck them on the page using the dotted lines in the margin to make sure they were straight. Then, I used a sponge dauber to dab ink gradually onto the page until I reached the depth of color I desired. I used a pigment ink for this technique. Pigment inks tend to sit on top of the page and not saturate the paper as much as a dye ink. They also take a long time to dry, so the ink stays workable for a while.

You can see on the second page the pink ink gradually getting darker. I did accidentally wrinkle the page as I was smoothing on the color, making a darker streak on the page, but no worry. I just kept going. I’ve learned that accidents happen on nearly every page. By the time the page is finished, that minor setback will barely show up!

IMG_1202

Here’s the finished look after I peeled off the sticky notes. Next, I used an apricot ink pad to stamp my favorite stamp in the kit this month – that lightbulb! My color scheme for this page was chosen from the sticker sheet in the kit: pink, yellow, and the pretty coral color.

IMG_1203

This bible I’m working in is super lumpy due to all the tip ins, stickers, and clips I’ve jammed inside, so I placed a paper pad under my page to get a little extra support for the stamping. The orange stamp is just enough contrast to play off of the pink! I’ll point out that I used the “together” stamp from the kit to stamp “to the.” I carefully inked those letters by turning the stamp upside down and using a corner of an ink pad to carefully dab ink on the right letters.

After I’ve gotten to this point, it seems like the black ink needs to be balanced a bit, so I decided to outline the pink box and the stickers for a little extra contrast. Next, I added a prayer on the bottom of the page, coordinating washi tape, and a few fun clips. That black and white clip is part of this July kit! IMG_1215

Thanks so much for reading my post! If you haven’t picked up a kit or a subscription, you can do that here. For more bible journaling inspiration, you can find me on Instagram.

Comments

