Walk in His Light | Cristin

IMG_1428

Hi friends! I’d like to share with you a recent bible journaling page I made using the July Creative Retreat kit. I used the stickers included in the kit for this page, and some matching Neocolor II watercolor crayons.

First, I’d like to share the passage I chose to journal. It comes from 1 John 1:5-7:

This is the message we heard from Jesus and now declare to you: God is light, and there is no darkness in him at all. So we are lying if we say we have fellowship with God but go on living in spiritual darkness; we are not practicing the truth. But if we are living in the light, as God is in the light, then we have fellowship with each other, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, cleanses us from all sin.  1 John 1:5-7 NLT

I love the message of living in the light, God’s light. I used the word “walk” in the bible’s margin as in relating to a spiritual practice or discipline of returning to the light – God’s truth, knowledge, perfection, holiness – over and over, remaining in his light.

I wanted to recreate the circle heart sticker that you see on the sticker sheet – the green circle with the yellow heart. I needed something round to trace, so I used a small vintage planter that I use to store my Neocolor watercolor crayons, and traced around it. Then I sketched out a heart in the middle. Before the next step, I erased as much of the pencil as I could and still see the shapes. Then, I colored in the circle and heart with the crayons.

IMG_1390

I purchase my crayons individually at my local art store. These colors are Veronese Green and Golden yellow. I put a pad of paper under the page to prevent reverse embossing as I colored since there’s a page underneath that’s a little lumpy. After the shapes were colored in, I used a water brush to turn the crayon into watercolor.

IMG_1391

Once this was done, I let it dry completely before arranging the stickers on top. I love how this kit came with a large number of alphabet stickers. That way, it’s so easy to spell out the words that I want. IMG_1427

After I arranged the stickers, I added in washi tape. To make the letters and the “His” and “Good” stickers stand out a bit, I outlined them with a white gel pen. I also outlined the painted yellow heart and green circle. This was to cover up any remaining pencil lines and to replicate the white outline on the lightbulb and “light” sticker. It just added a little continuity amongst the stickers.

Thank you so much for reading this post! I sometimes get asked for journaling tips and I want to say that my first suggestion is always remaining in Jesus. I love journaling because it has given me a new hunger for His Word. I know He is the reason why I love doing this. And it is sure fun to play with new supplies that encourage me to dig into His Truth!

You can find more bible journaling inspiration from me here on Instagram. If you haven’t signed up for a Creative Retreat subscription where you can get inspiring kits delivered every month (yay!), or if you’d just like to purchase this kit, head over to creativeretreatkits.com to make that happen!

 

5 thoughts on “Walk in His Light | Cristin

  1. Good morning, Cristin. Ooh, I really like this page! The joy of your page really captures the joy of this scripture and the Joy of the Lord. It’s really happy and cheerful and full of light. I do have a question for you. You did a fabulous job of selecting washi tapes to work with the stickers and enamel dots. Do you know where the floral, the thin multi-colored dot, and the rainbow-striped washi tape come from? I’d love to track them down. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hi Bristol! Thank you for taking the time to read the blog post, and for your thoughtful words. 🙂 The floral washi is by Dayspring, and it came in a package of 2 washis – the other one in the package is an orange & gold washi. The stripe and thin dot are by Pink Paislee – Summer Lights collection. They came in a package with a few other coordinating tapes. I recently purchased all of these that you asked about so they should still be pretty easy to locate! Let me know if you have any more questions!! 🙂

      Like

Comments

