August 2017 Kit · Bible Journaling · Creative Team

Grow in Him | Cristin

IMG_1653

 

Hi friends! This is Cristin and I have a fun page to share with you using the August Faith Art Box from Creative Retreat. I’m journaling one of my favorite passages in John 15. I wanted to use the gorgeous rose stamp in the kit this month. It’s so pretty, and there are luscious leaves and berries that can be stamped and layered to create beautiful flower arrangements!

This rose reminds me of some beautiful climbing roses that grew in abundance on a house I once lived in. These flowers were beautiful, hot pink blossoms and they climbed up around the door to the house. Sadly, this was before cell phones had nice cameras, so no selfies! Haha!

IMG_1654

Usually when I think of this passage, I picture a grapevine, probably because in verse one, Jesus says, “I am the true grapevine, and my Father is the gardener.” A few months ago, I journaled this passage in my other journaling bible, and it brought to mind a cell phone being plugged in to the power source. But this time, I’m picturing beautiful roses growing on a climbing vine. Here is part of the passage. You can read John 15 in its entirety if you’d like.

Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me. Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.  John 15:4-5

What a powerful promise from Jesus! Remain in Him, and we will bear fruit. A few ways I choose to abide are to read my bible, study it and journal what I learn. I also find attending church and being a part of a church body important to my spiritual health. Some people like to attend a bible study or a small group, which is awesome! We all need Jesus!

Let’s get started journaling this page. First, because I will be stamping on the page with black ink, I’ve decided to lay down a coat of acrylic paint first. This helps block the ink from bleeding through to the other side. Typically, I don’t mind my art mediums bleeding through, but I journal in the gospels a lot, and I might want to do something on the other side…so I’m saving myself time later by prepping the page now. Plus, I can add some color this way.

Here’s where I’ll share a secret: I try to avoid using paintbrushes whenever possible. Mostly because I don’t want to lose momentum and stop to wash them. If you’ve ever found dried up paintbrushes after a crafternoon, you’ll know what I mean! For this, I used the baby wipe painting method where you apply paint to a baby wipe and swipe on the page. The page will wrinkle due to wetness, but no worries. The damp baby wipe helps the paint blend into the page. After the base color (I used iridescent lime green) is dry, I applied white on top and let it dry. Then I added a tiny bit of orange. You can use literally any acrylic paints for this, and they don’t have to be fancy. Just be sure to let the layers dry completely and not work the paint too much after applying.

IMG_1642

Next, the stamping. I stamped the roses and “grow in Him” from the set using Versafine black pigment ink. I drew in the vines with a fine tipped Faber Castell pen. I didn’t like part of the vine that I drew, so I covered it up with stickers! I love that. I colored in the stamped images with markers and used a white gel pen to “highlight” the rose petals and leaves. I like how this makes them pop out!

I used the little round stamps like they were berries, and stamped them here and there amongst the leaves. Creating this vine was so fun! I like how the layered paint is so subtle in the background. Did you notice that the kits come with coordinating ribbon clips? I love that because it’s like adding jewelry to an outfit – it pulls everything together and looks fancy. The hot pink Nuvo Crystal drops were applied to the berries, right onto the page. This paint dries shiny, like enamel.

IMG_1652

Thanks for taking the time to check out my tutorial and read this post! If you’d like to get in touch, find me here on Instagram, You can also leave a comment below. 🙂 If you haven’t signed up for a Creative Retreat subscription, head over here to check out the details. What could be more fun than getting a box of beautiful, inspiring bible journaling goodies every month?!? x

Comments

