August 2017 Kit · Bible Journaling · Creative Team

Rest for our Souls | Angela

Rest.  We all long for it.  There have been times in my life that I thought rest meant a vacation….time away from the daily grind…the overwhelming pressures of life.  Although physical rest is good and there is certainly a time for “getting away” from it all, my soul often (daily) longs for a different type of rest.  A rest that I can even have during the chaos!    

“Come to me all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11: 28-30

So how do we get this rest?  Spend time with Him, commune with Him throughout the day, and give Him your thoughts and troubles.  Ask for this rest.  Jesus says it Himself, “Come to me…” It’s that easy, and it’s life changing. It’s really indescribable…which makes it all the more special and makes me fully aware that it is Him in me. The world will never give us this rest.  Never.

For this journal entry, I knew I wanted to use lots of elements from the new August Faith Box.  Mainly because I love it all!!!  Seriously, from the stamps to the stickers, and of course the bows…this kit is a favorite!  I started by highlighting the verses in Matthew with a gelato.  I used a mix of stamps (Lord, rest, and always) along with my own lettering.  I love how the mix of stamps and your own hand writing look together!  Next, I used one of the gorgeous flower stamps from the kit, several heart stickers, and that sweet banner sticker for marking the verse.  I did a little bit of coloring in and voila!  Entry complete.  Because I love the Creative Retreat Kits so much, I feel like I’m able to spend more time in the Word and less time trying to figure out how I’ll journal in the margins.  It’s a win win!  Be sure to get your kit.  There are only a limited amount available this month. 

Resting in Him,
Angela

2 thoughts on “Rest for our Souls | Angela

  1. Beautiful page, Angela! Also, I love what you said about rest. That is exactly how I have felt this year and it has strengthened my faith so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Laura, I am so glad to hear that you have been experiencing this rest. It changes everything, doesn’t it? All praise and glory to our Lord. Thank you, sweet friend, for taking the time to share and comment. Blessings, Angela

      Like

Comments

