Bible Journaling with Julie | Grow Good Fruit

You can see a process video for this page by visiting the CR YouTube Channel or by clicking the link at the bottom of this page.

“16 But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.17 For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do.” (Gal. 5:16-17)

ACS_0221I live in Florida.  And let me just tell you, Florida in July is HOT!  My favorite fruit to eat in the summertime (well, really anytime) is watermelon.  There is something so refreshing and sweet and satisfying about watermelon–especially if you choose a good one.  There’s a secret to picking the best watermelon at the store or fruit stand.  It has to do with the sound of the thump, and the color and size of the spot on the bottom.

My husband actually does most of our grocery shopping (I know, I’ve got a good hubby!), and he’s learned this secret too.  However, occasionally, if he’s in a hurry and doesn’t take the time to be selective, he’s brought home a rather rotten melon.  One time, it was so rotten, when I went to stick the knife in, the entire melon split open on its own.  My youngest son, the biggest watermelon-lover of us all, was so disappointed, he was willing to still try to eat it.  That is until he got one whiff of the putrid odor and saw the immediate swarm of fruit flies (where did they even come from?!).

There’s a definite difference between good fruit and bad fruit, and I don’t just mean melons!  Galatians 5 talks about the fruit of the Spirit and the fruit of the flesh.  What type of fruit we produce is a result of the seeds we plant, or rather, allow to be planted in our lives.  Verses 16 and 17 tells us that the flesh and the Spirit battle in our lives to produce fruit.  Which one am I allowing to produce fruit?  The seeds that I allow to be planted determine the fruit that will be produced.  When I walk in and by the Spirit–making good choices about how I spend my time, what I put into my heart and mind, what I listen to and watch–I am allowing the Spirit to grow the good fruit in me.  Fruit such as love, joy, peace, patience, etc.  You know the list.  But when I make poor choices about how I spend my time, what I put into my heart and mind, what I listen to and watch–I am allowing the flesh to produce bad fruit in me–fruit like idolatry, envy, jealousy, anger, strife, etc.  My prayer for you and me is that we grow good, sweet fruit of the Spirit, not the rotten, foul fruit of the flesh.

ACS_0218

I created this page with the July Faith Art Box and Pitt Big Brush Pens.  I went for a spilled juice effect, so I smooshed the color first, and then stamped the outline image.  I also did some two-step stamping using the backside of the stamp.  I stamped the fruit words in the background, and then added the word, alpha, and shape stickers for my title.  I embellished the page with some washi, the enclosed enamel shapes, a sticker for the top tab, and a bow from some fruity fabric I had in my stash.  I finished it up with some detailing with my white gel pen, black splattering, and of course, my journaling.  Check out the video below to see how this page came together.

ACS_0219

This month’s kit is awesome, with its colors and fresh images!  Make sure to get yours, and share your projects in our insiders group on Facebook, and/or on Instagram, using the hashtags #creativeretreatkits and #faithartbox.

You can check out my other process videos and tutorials on Jules’ Jewels YouTube Channel and my blog Jules’ Jewels, and other projects on Instagram at @julesk.jewels.

One thought on “Bible Journaling with Julie | Grow Good Fruit

Comments