Your Will, My God | Elli

Hello! Elli here, sharing a page from my Bible using the November Faith Art Box. Today’s page is journaled in Psalm 143. I love this Psalm. I remember back in college I had verse 8 written on a 3×5 card and taped by my bed so I would see it first thing in the morning. So I had “saved” this page assuming I would journal verse 8 it being a favorite and all.  Most of the time when I save a page to journal a meaningful or popular verse, God highlights something else for me and shifts my focus.  That’s the beauty of God’s word. He is always teaching me new things as I open my heart to Him.

img_20161115_093200
“Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift my soul.” Psalm 143:8

Another thing I should add is my journaling process is usually quite long. If you read my last blog post, I wrote about God leading me in a decision that needed to be made. In that time, a few weeks back now, I was reading Psalm 143 and the parts that stood out to me most were “Make me know the way I should go” and “teach me to do your will, for you are my God! Let your good Spirit lead me on solid ground” You see, as a Christian, when faced with an important decision, I want to be in God’s will, and I want Him to make it very clear to me exactly what He wants me to do. “Is this your plan for me, God?” I ask, but I often over complicate and overthink it!

img_20161115_093051
“Teach me to do your will, for you are my God.” Psalm 143: 10

It is good to desire to be in God’s will, but sometimes I think I am too busy trying to figure it out or looking for some sign that I miss what is already clear in His word. He has been teaching me that apart from dedicated time in His word and in prayer it is impossible to stay true to God’s will and purpose for me.  I must be spending alone time in His word and in prayer abiding in Him. The more I do this, the more in tune I will be with His will.  He will teach me, guide me, change me and equip me to do the work He has already planned for me to do.

“Teach me to do your will, for you are my God! Let your good Spirit lead me on level ground.”

Psalm 143:10

Are you unsure what God’s will is for you right now? Are you seeking a clear sign? I would encourage you to spend alone time with Him in His word and pray for Him to teach you to do His will and lead you in the way you should go.  He is faithful to answer those who seek Him and seek to do His will.

I’d like to share just a few verses to meditate on as well surrounding God’s will.

“For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in Him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.” John 6:40

  “ Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

“I delight to do your will, O my God, your law is within my heart” and “I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation.” Psalm 40:8 & 10

I hope these verses will encourage you today as you seek to be in His will.img_20161115_092957

For this page I used the green alpha stickers from this month’s kit to really highlight “Your Will” Then with the kits color scheme as inspiration, I added color to my flowers and picked out coordinating washi tape. I finished by layering some stickers from the kit up top. This is so fun too, and there are so many combinations I could have gone with! I had completely overlooked the “My” and the “God” stamps earlier in my process so I used them on one of the stickers and love how it came together!

Thanks for reading, friends! Please leave a comment below if you have any questions or would like me to pray for you.

Blessings, Elli

Find me on Instagram

 

Comments